Bun Tutorial for Short to Medium Natural Hair

I remember as a child having an attitude when my mom put my hair in a bun, now they’re my favorite.. Oh the irony.


Deciding to rock my natural hair wasn’t ever really a decision, I just naturally transitioned after high school. I didn’t get relaxers or put any unnatural chemicals in my hair anymore. Now though being a naturalista is rewarding, it is a lifestyle and a hassle sometimes with our curls, coils and kinks. I have a few styles that I use to help ease the stress, here’s my quickest and absolute fav!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset


 

First, I start off with freshly washed hair. If your hair is already clean and you don’t want to rewash it just yet, you can get a spray bottle and wet your hair with water.

Make sure you towel dry. Once your hair is damp, moisturize your hair with a moisturizer of your choice.

Snapshot 3 (02-26-16 11-27 PM)Snapshot 4 (02-26-16 11-27 PM)


 

Take some gel (I use EcoStyler gel, my favorite) and put it ALL over your hair. Your edges, front, back, just everywhere. Just make sure the gel you do decide to use isn’t damaging to your hair.

Brush your hair with a hard bristle brush either up, or down. It’s your preference of a high or low bun.


Once you’ve found your preferred position for your bun secure it tightly with a hair tie.

Snapshot 6 (02-26-16 11-29 PM)Snapshot 7 (02-26-16 11-29 PM)


 

Go grab a scarf girl! I use a silk scarf to lock in all the moisture in my hair.

You can sleep overnight while the gel dries or leave your scarf on for about 20 mins. This is the perfect time to go do your makeup or check out some of my blog posts or YouTube videos 😉


 

Once dry, get some Marley or Kanekalon hair to attach to your bun. Brush or tease it out for more of a natural look.

Make sure you have lots of bobby pins handy to pin your bun in place.

Play with the hair and style as desired!


 

WATCH ME CREATE MY BUN BELOW

Share, like and subscribe for more tutorials like this one 🙂

And just like that, you’re done! Now you have a sleek, beautiful bun.


STAY JOYFUL MY LOVES!

Bun Tutorial

Social Media

Twitter

Instagram

Tumblr

Facebook

Snapchat – JoyNavon

Leave a Reply

