NYE 2016 “NYC ADVENTURE”

I don’t even know where to begin…

IMG_0695

The day started off like any other day except, it was New Years Eve.

Kent and I decided to spend the day in one of the greatest cities on the planet, my hometown, New York City.

IMG_6609


When we first arrived to the city we had the intentions of sight-seeing, shopping and watching the “Ball Drop” like regular tourists, but New York’s finest, NYPD blocked off the ENTIRE city! (Understandably so) But the chaos of traveling on NYE in Manhattan was beyond anything Kent and I felt like dealing with.

So we took a little detour…


After subway hopping from borough to borough, we made the choice of visiting the Brooklyn Bridge.

IMG_0705

The scenery of the city is something words can’ t describe. Even though I was born and raised in Brooklyn, I never walked the bridge. I’ve always had this dream of being with the guy of my dreams on a romantic date, city lights and millions of people around, with no care in the world. Being free.

Kent remembered that dream ❤


He pulled me aside, looked me in the eyes and my heart dropped. I didn’t know what was happening, but I felt something.

With this beautiful ring on his pinky, he said “I want to ask you something…”

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

Without even having to guess, I said “Of course!”

tumblr_o0aao5HvmL1qf7lgio5_1280.jpg

Being in any kind of relationship is a choice and a commitment. Since day one, Kent and I had a spiritual connection that only God could understand. We barely understand it ourselves sometimes. Promise rings, engagement rings.. it’s all the same to us. I swear, if you would’ve told me I’d be graduating college, engaged and starting a business all in the same year, I would’ve called you a psycho. Time, age, finances and even distance aside, everyone’s life doesn’t happen according to “plan”, and it’s not supposed to.

The only thing I could say for sure is that, when you know.. you really just know.


Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

So I know you’re thinking, the night couldn’t possibly get any better right? WRONG!

We returned to Manhattan, starving might I add, running around through police like crazy people. We pretty much gave up on the dream of watching the “Ball Drop”, we just wanted food and water!


All the restaurants, from McDonalds to your five-star $100 a plate bistro was closed. The only thing available were food trucks and hot dog stands. Exhausted and ready to go home, Kent came up with a brilliant idea!

MAKE A RESERVATION!

IMG_0785.JPG

We weren’t sure at all if the plan would work, but we had to try! Dallas BBQs was calling our name. The cops had to let us through with a reservation right?

IMG_0789

RIGHT! 😉

And did I mention it was free?


December 31st, 2015 was definitely the best night of my life thus far. I wouldn’t change or rearrange anything that happened that day. I said I wanted to bring the new year in with a bang, and that’s exactly what happened.

I’m so grateful. Happiness is even big enough of a word.

2016, BRING IT ON!


 

Follow me on all social media @JoyNavon

Stay joyful this year!

Leave a Reply

