TOP Hip Hop and R&B Albums of 2015

This year was filled with dope music. Hip Hop gave us everything from how to Hit The Quan, do the Nae Nae, plus conscious insight. And R&B somehow went back to it’s roots with pure love songs. Crazy right?!

This will be the first from my series of yearly post I plan on making in the future. And since I’m a music junkie, I thought it was fitting.

I love all genres of music. Anything that’ll make me move, think, or feel good, I’m here for it! But let’s focus on my two personal favorites; Hip Hop and R&B.


In no specific order, I’m giving you my top 5 from each genre.

R&B

Chris Brown Royalty

chris-brown-royalty

Chris is an amazing talent, we all know that. And although this album was just released last week, he is a WINNER! You put CB on your record and you’re guaranteed a Billboard Top 100 slot. I expected nothing less than hits and personal records. Please give this man his props because he deserves them. (Isn’t his daughter Royalty the cutest!)

 


 

Tyrese Black Rose

Tyrese-Black-Rose

Black Ty wasn’t playing NO games on his so-called last solo album. This man has a disrespectful amount of talent. He mentioned it took him 3 years to make this album, being that it was so personal. He dug deep into himself for this, “come back home to me” dedicated album to his ex-wife. I’d say it was worth it. Tyrese, this. was. amazing. Timeless, classic, sexy, you name it!


 

Eric Bellinger Cuffing Season

c549f5d59c9e8e2039133a4f6ee7f714.600x600x1

EB put straight bangers on this album. Being a recent new husband and father made Eric a better man and he proves it with this project. What I love about him is that with all his albums, you can just press play and walk away. You don’t skip a song; Cuffing Season is no different. If you’re in a relationship, he makes you appreciate it. And if you’re single, he’ll definitely make you want someone special.


 

Bryson Tiller TRAPSOUL

1440175453_bf23bb4333fca1cdede2310a3d737f82

Young Tiller is a newbie to the game, but with his tunes, you don’t even realize it. Bryson came through busting down doors! This is his first album and he’s already headlining and selling out concert tickets within hours. I’m looking forward to see what’s to come from him. His music took away Netflix and turned it into “Bryson Tiller & Chill”.


Jazmine Sullivan Reality Show

81pfDmHTj5L._SL1500_

My girl Jazmine! Baby love can sangggggggggggg her face OFF! I was so freaking excited about this album when it was released. Jazmine went on a five year hiatus from the music industry, but I’m so happy she’s back. She’s shown us that she still got it! Her style is so different, I just love this woman’s sound. Hopefully I’ll see her live in concert one day.. (crosses fingers)


Now that that’s covered, it’s time for everyone’s favorite debate..

Hip Hop

Drake If You’re Reading This It’s Too Late

86c0604ab3c6bdf136408f04dea78810.1000x1000x1.jpg

I’m not going to lie to you, Drizzy Drake is winning bro; but I’m pretty sure you knew that already. Drake is always going to gut punch you with the radio hits, that’s speciality. If he’s not in a meme dancing, he has everyone running through the six. Every single song on this album.. goes!


Drake & Future What a Time To Be Alive

image

This a was really unexpected project, I must say. And the even more surprising thing is, I’m obsessed with this album. I’ve always liked both Drake and Future individually, but combined… they’re an epic duo. This is a perfect album for those days at the gym, during girls/guys night out and especially right after the pregame before you hit the club! Straight lituation.


Travi$ Scott Rodeo

travis-rodeo-slider

Travi$ is so unique, this dude needs more recognition. His musical influences come alive through his music. I love listening to this project, it’s fun with great energy. Without realizing it, I still find myself singing ALL the words to his songs when they come on.


Big Sean Dark Sky Paradise

BigSeanDarkSkyParadise1

I’m so proud of the homie Sean man. I’ve been a fan of Big Sean since the beginning of his career, I always saw his potential. Seany deserves all the credit he gets for this album, it is DOPE! The album was number one for obvious reasons. (Seeing him perform IDFWU live was BANANAS) If you haven’t heard this project, please go listen to it! You will not be disappointed, I promise.


Now of course I had to save the best for last!

Kendrick Lamar To Pimp A Butterfly

kendrick-lamar-untitled-album-cover

BRUH. Do I even have to say anything? Kendrick Lamar is KING! Hands down. With his straight forward flow and jaw dropping lyrics, he keeps you on your feet! K. Dot’s use of live instruments and storytelling is effortless. No one does it better than him. He’ll keep you captivated if you just listen. And what’s so special about Kendrick is, everyone won’t get him, and that’s quite alright. He makes a clear message to all, just spread love.


What was your top albums of the year?! Comment and let me know.

Don’t forget to follow me on all social media @JoyNavon

Until next time, stay joyful my loves!

Leave a Reply

