Summer Jam 2015

Okay you guys, so I literally could not wait to blog about this event. It’s finally that time of year again… SUMMER time! And for us New Yorkers and Jersey peeps that means it time for #SUMMERJAM 😊 Every year legendary radio station Hot 97 puts on a Hip Hop mega-concert featuring the hottest artists in the game. It’s a huge deal for us!


IMG_6348

Summer Jam 2015I was so excited that the weather was as perfect as it was. It seems like every year it rains at Summer Jam but this time it was in the 70s and there wasn’t a cloud in the sky. My best friend and I were anticipating this concert since we bought our tickets in April. We decided to take the train (NJ Transit) to MetLife Stadium this time instead of driving, it was a lot easier and of course we eliminated the cost of paying for parking and tolls and such.


IMG_6345

arrow_outline_pink_left

Kendra (the sis) and I arrived around 4:00-ish.. We decided to meet up my other bestest homie Chris who was tailgating.

IMG_6353

IMG_6352

There was a festival going on at this time in the parking lot. It’s usually from 2-6pm since the concert starts at 6:30. The festival stage performers were Travi$ Scott, B.o.B., Joey Bada$$, Teyana Taylor and Dej Loaf. We didn’t get to see the festival performers, we got there too late for that and it was beyond way too crowded to head to the stage but it was cool, we didn’t really mind it at all.


SJXII 2015-95
B.o.B.
Summer_Jam_2015_by_LaVan_Anderson_Hot97-2
Teyana Taylor
Photo Jun 07, 6 20 56 PM
Travi$ Scott

Millions of craved fans come out for this and it’s always uber packed. This was just my second time attending the concert and I must say this was the best one thus far. Tickets are seemingly getting pricer but honestly it’s SO worth it. You pay the same price for seeing 30+ top artists in Hip Hop that you would just for floor seats at one of their concerts alone. The energy of the crowd is always hyped and everyone is genuinely always in a great mood.


Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset

Photo Jun 07, 8 13 28 PM
G-Unit

As the stadium filled up the performers were rolling out. First came Omarion, Ty Dolla $ign (who brought out Wiz Khalifa), Trey Songz and Chris Brown (who brought out G-Unit and French Montana)

Photo Jun 07, 7 32 19 PM
Trey Songz
Photo Jun 07, 6 42 55 PM
Omarion
Chris Brown
Chris Brown

IMG_6544

The rest of the concert was honestly just a blur for me because I can’t even believe I was able to be in the presence of all these legends. Fabolous brought so many surprise guests with him, I probably can’t even name everyone but just know, it was the talk of the night!

Fabolous
Fabolous
Lil Kim
Lil Kim

He killed his set! Lil Kim, Fat Joe and Remy Ma, Red Man and Method Man, Busta Rhymes, Mase, Mobb Deep.. and the list goes ON!

Fat Joe and Remy Ma
Fat Joe and Remy Ma

Mase
Mase

Now if you know me you know I STAN for Kendrick Lamar and the whole TDE movement. K. Dot is honestly the ONLY reason I originally wanted to go. I enjoyed his performance so much. I was so excited and happy to see him that I literally started crying (which is sooooo unlike me lol)

IMG_3362

Now since Kendrick is a one man show of course, he didn’t bring out anyone except his TDE family; Schoolboy Q and SZA.

IMG_3396
IMG_3438The crowd went crazy over him and his energy was on 100 as always. His performance was A1 no doubt! I have to go to a Kendrick Lamar concert just for him alone, he’s just SO great period but especially live.


The show closed out with about four more acts but I only stayed for the last two. Big Sean (who didn’t bring any guests either) and Meek Mill who surprised the HECK out of my best friend and I with bringing Future and Nicki Minaj on stage (we’re complete Barbz) so we LOST it.

IMG_6407

I was  updating my Snapchat ALL NIGHT long (thank God for portable chargers lol)

Big Sean
Big Sean
Future and Meek Mill
Future and Meek Mill

I lost my voice from screaming so loud but it was well worth it. I can’t WAIT for Summer Jam next year. I can only hope it’s as dope as this year because this concert was truly one of a kind. But until next time you guys..

IMG_4267 IMG_4225Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

Follow me on Instagram, Twitter and Snapchat @joynavon

Stay joyful 😘

3 Replies to “Summer Jam 2015”

Leave a Reply

