Protect Your Fro!

If you’re like me then you care a lot about your hair. And while the appearance of it is important, a healthy head full of hair means a lot more. I’ve been natural for about 5 years. Now don’t get me wrong, I love my afro but it. is. WORK. Way more work than I’d like to deal with on a daily basis. I get so many questions about maintenance and different things that I do to make my natural hair lifestyle easier, so I’m just going to share a few tips that I use to keep my hair strong, healthy and beautiful 😊

IMG_9497


WASH ROUTINE

imageI’m so in love with VO5 shampoos and conditioners. They have different uses (strengthening, clarifying, moisturizing, etc.) and come in different scents which smell SO good 😍 I really love this stuff. I honestly don’t wash my hair on a schedule but I would recommend doing it about every week and a half to two weeks. This is available at Walmart for less than $1!

MOISTURIZERS

image

Coconut oil is essential for keeping my hair hydrated. It’s completely natural and organic. I just make sure I put some of this in my hair twice or three times a week. You can get this from your local drugstore or pharmacy, Target, Walmart or supermarket.

image

I think I may have a slight addiction to Shea Moisture products… they’re amazing! If you’re a naturalista with thick hair like me, this stuff is for you huntyyy! They have everything from shampoos to masques. My personal favorite is the leave-in conditioner, I use that every time I style my hair. There products also have delicious long-lasting scents. Available at Walmart and Sally’s.

STYLER

image

So many people have a “thing” with putting gel in their hair, but I’m here to tell you that I’m extremely pro-Eco Styler Gel. It’s the best gel I’ve ever used honestly. It doesn’t flake or cake like most gels and it’s perfect to style with. I use it for all my twist outs, bantu knots, braid outs and protective styles. The big tub (recommended) is available at Walmart and Sally’s. The only thing I could say about this is that it’s best for thick hair. If your hair is thin I’d suggest something more light-weight like Aloe Vera gel, which is 100% pure and made from natural ingredients, it’s so natural you can even use it on your body for scars, bites and other things.

k2-_fe574aa5-486f-41f7-bfe5-cea393559be2.v1

Thank you all for reading. If you have any questions or suggestions leave a comment below. Add and follow me on Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat @joynavon

Stay joyful! πŸ˜˜πŸ’•

One Reply to “Protect Your Fro!”

Leave a Reply

